Posts from 2019-05-14

Funniest Picture Books of 2019 (so far)

We are so lucky to have read so many silly picture books this year! Check out a few of our funny favorites here. All are available for checkout from the Cape May County Library system.

Llama Destroys the World by Jonathan Stutzman: “Meet Llama, the next great picture-book megastar, who has most definitely driven a bus and who loves tacos way more than you. He also loves cake, and that's where our story begins. On Monday, Llama discovers a pile of cake, which he promptly eats. On Tuesday, Llama squeezes into his dancing pants, which he promptly rips. The force of the rip creates a black hole (naturally). By Friday, Llama will (indirectly) destroy the world. So grab some cake and your dancing pants and prepare for Llama Destroys the World ... because THE TIME FOR LLAMA IS NIGH!”

Underwear! by Jennifer Harney: “A tired bear dad tries to herd his rambunctious bear cub who would rather play with his tighty whities into bed. Underwear makes great hair. It can even turn one into a superbear, or a goggle-wearing swimming bear. But beware of a big scare! Rhymes, homonyms, and conjunctions abound in this book that could be used to teach reading, but whose primary purpose is to make bedtime fun.”

The Panda Problem by Deborah Underwood: “Every story needs a problem. But Panda doesn't have a problem. Unless . . . Panda is the problem. The New York Times bestselling author of Here Comes the Easter Cat and The Quiet Book loses control of the narrative in the funniest, most exuberant, most kid-delighting way in this adventurous ode to what makes a story--and what makes a story great.”

Cake by Sue Hendra: “In the tradition of I Want My Hat Back, this delicious story from Sue Hendra and Paul Linnet tells the story of a cake who's about to attend his very first party--but he has no idea what's coming! Cake has been invited to his very first birthday party! He buys just the right outfit--including the PERFECT hat. But as the candles on his perfect party hat begin to burn, and the other party guests start to sing, Cake starts to think that this is one party he'd rather not be at…”

Dandy by Ame Dyckman: “From popular author Ame Dyckman and rising star Charles Santoso comes the laugh-out-loud story of a father desperate to destroy the dandelion marring his perfectly manicured lawn, and his daughter's fierce attempts to save it. When Daddy spots a solitary weed in his lawn, he's appalled (along with all of his neighborhood friends). But his daughter Sweetie has fallen in love with the beautiful flower, even going so far as to name it Charlotte. Racing against time and the mockery of his friends, Daddy has to find a way to get rid of the errant dandelion without breaking his little girl's heart.”

Teach Your Giraffe to Ski by Viviane Elbee: “Your giraffe wants to learn how to ski--but but not on the bunny hill. She wants to go down the big scary slope! Enjoy this riotous journey as the narrator tries to reign their giraffe in--and learns something about courage along the way.”

When a Tiger Comes to Dinner by Jessica Olien: “A funny interactive picture book that's great for reading aloud. Perfect for fans of Don't Let the Pigeon Drive the Bus. A tiger is coming to dinner! Are you ready? Luckily, this book can help. Ask yourself, do tigers . . . Like to play a rousing game of Go Fish? Prefer peanut butter and jelly? Enjoy wearing party hats? Whatever you do, be sure to practice your ROAR! for when the tiger arrives!”

Bruno, the Standing Cat by Nadine Robert: “Meet a silly and absurd cat who's like no cat you've ever met before. When a box arrives on Peter's doorstep, he opens it to find Bruno, a cat who is standing up on two legs. It is very odd. Bruno likes to chew bubblegum, play house, and skateboard--and refuses to engage in any catlike behavior. But Peter likes Bruno, and so they become friends and do everything they can think of together. Jean Jullien (illustrator of the picture-book version of John Lennon's song "Imagine") is an emerging picture-book creator who works in a signature thick black line and bold, flat color. His quirky, subversive humor is childlike at its core, and kids will delight in his light and irreverent approach.”

Undercover Ostrich by Joe Kulka: “Animals can be sneaky. But do you know who is especially sneaky? Undercover ostriches! They're everywhere, and they're masters at going undetected. You've probably seen one and just assumed it was another woodpecker or owl. The narrator of this book is on the case, following a single ostrich on his many adventures. Not until the final twist does author and illustrator Joe Kulka let the readers in on the narrator's true motivation: a peanut collection mission involving undercover elephants.”

Where is My Balloon? by Ariel Bernstein: “Owl and Monkey from I Have a Balloon are back! But what happened to Owl's balloon? Find out in this hilarious picture book about making mistakes and finding forgiveness. Owl has a balloon. Monkey has a sock with a star and a perfectly shaped hole. But then Owl asks Monkey to hold his balloon, just for a second. What do you think happens? POP! When Owl returns and asks for his balloon, Monkey offers him everything under the sun...except for the balloon. Can their friendship survive this catastrophe?”

Owls Are Good at Keeping Secrets: An Unusual Alphabet by Sara O’Leary: “Did you know that chipmunks love to stay up past their bedtime? Or that dragons cry at happy endings? I bet you'd never have guessed that iguanas sometimes get homesick at sleepovers. Sara O'Leary pulls back the curtain on the animal world and gives us an absolutely charming little one-line "fact" about one animal for each letter of the alphabet. Kids will love to see their own quirks reflected in these adorably rendered creatures, and perhaps will be comforted to know that--just like them--narwhals can be perfectly happy all on their own and quail also get tired of being told to be quiet. This is more than just an alphabet book. It's a charming, hilarious, and touching look at the diversity of personalities in the world--worth many, many rereads.”

The Good Egg by John Jory: “From the bestselling creators of The Bad Seed, a timely story about not having to be Grade A perfect! Meet the good egg. He's a verrrrrry good egg indeed. But trying to be so good is hard when everyone else is plain ol' rotten. As the other eggs in the dozen behave badly, the good egg starts to crack from all the pressure of feeling like he has to be perfect. So, he decides enough is enough! It's time for him to make a change… Dynamic duo Jory John and Pete Oswald hatch a funny and charming story that reminds us of the importance of balance, self-care, and accepting those who we love (even if they are sometimes a bit rotten). Perfect for reading aloud and shared story time!”

mainlogo

Teen Logo Color

TLC

Search this Site

Follow Us

FB flickr
TWITTER YT

Clubs ReadWatchListeneresources blog

tumbleABC01littlepimSesame Streetdisney gamesBookflixlogo