Children's Department Blog

Vehicle Guessing Game

Check out our fun guessing game! We love transportation and things-that-go, and this game ties in so many types of vehicles. Click here to view and print the vehicle guessing game! We cut out the images, laminated them, and added magnets for use during storytime. Here is the full rhyme:

I have headlights and a steering wheel.

I take you near and far.

My Horn says honk! And my engine says vroom!

Hop in! I am a [car].

I pull cars along the rails.

I chug thought sun or rain.

My smokestack lets out a woo-woo!

Hop aboard! I am a [train].

I’ll take you soaring in the sky.

We’ll reach the clouds and sun!

I come in bright colors, with a basket for you.

Hop in! I am a [hot air balloon].

I have two wheel and a handlebar,

And pedals you will like.

You can ride me down the road.

Hop on! I am a [bike].

I have wings and an engine that roars.

My comfy cabin chairs contain

Lots of seats where passengers sit.

Hop aboard! I am a [plane].

I have a great big cab and a loud horn,

And big wheels so I won’t get stuck,

A giant trailer to carry big loads.

Hop aboard! I am a [truck].

 

5 Knights in Shining Armor

Click here to view and print our 5 Knights in Shining Armor pieces! We cut, laminated, and added magnets for use during storytime. Great for fantasy and fairy tale themes in the library or classroom!

Farmer, Farmer, What Do You See?

Kids love Brown Bear, Brown Bear - now they will love the farmer, brown cow, pink pig, and many more silly animals on the farm! Click here to view and print our template. We laminated and magnatized the objects for use during storytime!

Hot or Cold Activity

Here's a perfect, year-round activity to play with your young ones! Whether it's in a storytime, classroom, or home, kids love deciding what objects are hot and which ones are cold. At the Cape May County Library, we printed our list, laminated them, and added magnets to use on a felt board. Depending on the size of your storytime, classroom, or home, you can either give each child a card to place under the appropriate category, or hold them up one at a time and have the kids yell out the appropriate temperate. Click here to view and print our "Hot or Cold" activity!

Farm or Zoo Activity

Animals are always a hit with kids of all ages! One of our favorite activities is "Farm or Zoo," where the kids get to decide who lives where. After printing, laminating, and adding magnets to the back of the animals, storytime attendees have had a great time figuring out the home of their animal. Depending on the size of the storytime group or classroom, each child can get a card and assign it a home, or they can be shown the card and yell out where it lives. Click here to download and print our "Farm or Zoo" activity! 

Funniest Picture Books of 2019 (so far)

We are so lucky to have read so many silly picture books this year! Check out a few of our funny favorites here. All are available for checkout from the Cape May County Library system.

Llama Destroys the World by Jonathan Stutzman: “Meet Llama, the next great picture-book megastar, who has most definitely driven a bus and who loves tacos way more than you. He also loves cake, and that's where our story begins. On Monday, Llama discovers a pile of cake, which he promptly eats. On Tuesday, Llama squeezes into his dancing pants, which he promptly rips. The force of the rip creates a black hole (naturally). By Friday, Llama will (indirectly) destroy the world. So grab some cake and your dancing pants and prepare for Llama Destroys the World ... because THE TIME FOR LLAMA IS NIGH!”

Underwear! by Jennifer Harney: “A tired bear dad tries to herd his rambunctious bear cub who would rather play with his tighty whities into bed. Underwear makes great hair. It can even turn one into a superbear, or a goggle-wearing swimming bear. But beware of a big scare! Rhymes, homonyms, and conjunctions abound in this book that could be used to teach reading, but whose primary purpose is to make bedtime fun.”

The Panda Problem by Deborah Underwood: “Every story needs a problem. But Panda doesn't have a problem. Unless . . . Panda is the problem. The New York Times bestselling author of Here Comes the Easter Cat and The Quiet Book loses control of the narrative in the funniest, most exuberant, most kid-delighting way in this adventurous ode to what makes a story--and what makes a story great.”

Cake by Sue Hendra: “In the tradition of I Want My Hat Back, this delicious story from Sue Hendra and Paul Linnet tells the story of a cake who's about to attend his very first party--but he has no idea what's coming! Cake has been invited to his very first birthday party! He buys just the right outfit--including the PERFECT hat. But as the candles on his perfect party hat begin to burn, and the other party guests start to sing, Cake starts to think that this is one party he'd rather not be at…”

Dandy by Ame Dyckman: “From popular author Ame Dyckman and rising star Charles Santoso comes the laugh-out-loud story of a father desperate to destroy the dandelion marring his perfectly manicured lawn, and his daughter's fierce attempts to save it. When Daddy spots a solitary weed in his lawn, he's appalled (along with all of his neighborhood friends). But his daughter Sweetie has fallen in love with the beautiful flower, even going so far as to name it Charlotte. Racing against time and the mockery of his friends, Daddy has to find a way to get rid of the errant dandelion without breaking his little girl's heart.”

Teach Your Giraffe to Ski by Viviane Elbee: “Your giraffe wants to learn how to ski--but but not on the bunny hill. She wants to go down the big scary slope! Enjoy this riotous journey as the narrator tries to reign their giraffe in--and learns something about courage along the way.”

When a Tiger Comes to Dinner by Jessica Olien: “A funny interactive picture book that's great for reading aloud. Perfect for fans of Don't Let the Pigeon Drive the Bus. A tiger is coming to dinner! Are you ready? Luckily, this book can help. Ask yourself, do tigers . . . Like to play a rousing game of Go Fish? Prefer peanut butter and jelly? Enjoy wearing party hats? Whatever you do, be sure to practice your ROAR! for when the tiger arrives!”

Bruno, the Standing Cat by Nadine Robert: “Meet a silly and absurd cat who's like no cat you've ever met before. When a box arrives on Peter's doorstep, he opens it to find Bruno, a cat who is standing up on two legs. It is very odd. Bruno likes to chew bubblegum, play house, and skateboard--and refuses to engage in any catlike behavior. But Peter likes Bruno, and so they become friends and do everything they can think of together. Jean Jullien (illustrator of the picture-book version of John Lennon's song "Imagine") is an emerging picture-book creator who works in a signature thick black line and bold, flat color. His quirky, subversive humor is childlike at its core, and kids will delight in his light and irreverent approach.”

Undercover Ostrich by Joe Kulka: “Animals can be sneaky. But do you know who is especially sneaky? Undercover ostriches! They're everywhere, and they're masters at going undetected. You've probably seen one and just assumed it was another woodpecker or owl. The narrator of this book is on the case, following a single ostrich on his many adventures. Not until the final twist does author and illustrator Joe Kulka let the readers in on the narrator's true motivation: a peanut collection mission involving undercover elephants.”

Where is My Balloon? by Ariel Bernstein: “Owl and Monkey from I Have a Balloon are back! But what happened to Owl's balloon? Find out in this hilarious picture book about making mistakes and finding forgiveness. Owl has a balloon. Monkey has a sock with a star and a perfectly shaped hole. But then Owl asks Monkey to hold his balloon, just for a second. What do you think happens? POP! When Owl returns and asks for his balloon, Monkey offers him everything under the sun...except for the balloon. Can their friendship survive this catastrophe?”

Owls Are Good at Keeping Secrets: An Unusual Alphabet by Sara O’Leary: “Did you know that chipmunks love to stay up past their bedtime? Or that dragons cry at happy endings? I bet you'd never have guessed that iguanas sometimes get homesick at sleepovers. Sara O'Leary pulls back the curtain on the animal world and gives us an absolutely charming little one-line "fact" about one animal for each letter of the alphabet. Kids will love to see their own quirks reflected in these adorably rendered creatures, and perhaps will be comforted to know that--just like them--narwhals can be perfectly happy all on their own and quail also get tired of being told to be quiet. This is more than just an alphabet book. It's a charming, hilarious, and touching look at the diversity of personalities in the world--worth many, many rereads.”

The Good Egg by John Jory: “From the bestselling creators of The Bad Seed, a timely story about not having to be Grade A perfect! Meet the good egg. He's a verrrrrry good egg indeed. But trying to be so good is hard when everyone else is plain ol' rotten. As the other eggs in the dozen behave badly, the good egg starts to crack from all the pressure of feeling like he has to be perfect. So, he decides enough is enough! It's time for him to make a change… Dynamic duo Jory John and Pete Oswald hatch a funny and charming story that reminds us of the importance of balance, self-care, and accepting those who we love (even if they are sometimes a bit rotten). Perfect for reading aloud and shared story time!”

If You Like Display 3

Our library is constantly seeing kids coming in asking for popular titles such as Dog Man, anything by Raina TelgemeierPokemon, and so on. As a result, they fly off the shelves! Here is our new display offering read alikes. To view the PDF, click here!

Read the Rainbow Display

Read the rainbow! Check out our newest display that features a rainbow of book covers. We are very excited to use the endcap to highlight a variety of beloved classics with new favorites. For a printable PDF of this display, click here!

If You Like Display 2

Our library is constantly seeing kids coming in asking for popular titles such as Goosebumps, the Junie B. Jones Series, Wings of Fire, and so on. As a result, they fly off the shelves! Here is our new display offering read alikes. To view the PDF, click here!

If You Like Display

Our library is constantly seeing kids coming in asking for popular titles such as Diary of a Wimpy Kid, the I Survived Series, Harry Potter, and so on. As a result, they fly off the shelves! Here is our new display offering read alikes. To view the PDF, click here!

mainlogo

Teen Logo Color

TLC

Search this Site

Follow Us

FB flickr
TWITTER YT

blog eresources Reading Programs Beanstack ReadWatchListen

tumbleABC01littlepimSesame Streetdisney gamesBookflixlogo