Posts from 2018-10-12

Spooky Halloween Reads

Are you or your child in the mood for a spooky story?  The Cape May County Library has three new scary chapter books that are sure to deliver the spine tingles.

Small Spaces by Katherine Arden is about a girl named Ollie, who one day saves a book from being thrown in a river, and begins to read about mysterious disappearances, bargains with an entity known as the Smiling Man, and a warning to keep to the small spaces after dark.  On a school field trip to a local farm that is said to be haunted, Ollie discovers that the farm is the same one from the book she grabbed at the river.  Her surprise turns to horror as the school bus breaks down on the way back to the school, and her digital wristwatch flashes one word:  RUN!  Small Spaces is equal parts ghost story and mystery, and it’s a guarantee that you will never again look at a scarecrow without feeling a bit creeped out. (Recommended for ages 10+)

City of Ghosts by Victoria Schwab is about a girl named Cassidy who is able to see and communicate with ghosts.  When her parents are invited to film a paranormal television show in Edinburgh, Scotland, she’s hauled overseas to one of the most haunted places on the planet.  Her ability attracts the unwanted attention of a particular nasty character.  City of Ghosts is a fun, spooky story, and you’ll want to have an Edinburgh guidebook beside you to help visualize the twisty streets and the gloom of the Greyfriar Kirk.  (Recommended for ages 10+)

Ghoulia by Barbara Cantini is about a young zombie who wants to make new friends.  However, she’s very obviously undead, which scares everyone she meets.  It seems hopeless, until Halloween rolls around, and she fits right in!  This book has a great bit of dark humor that’s perfect for fans of Nightmare Before Christmas! (Recommended for ages 8+)

mainlogo

Teen Logo Color

TLC

Search this Site

Follow Us

FB flickr
TWITTER YT

Clubs ReadWatchListeneresources blog

tumbleABC01littlepimSesame Streetdisney gamesBookflixlogo