Posts from category "Recommendations "

Native American Heritage Month

November is Native American Heritage Month, and the Cape May County Library would like to invite you to read these excellent books by Native American authors and illustrators

Bowwow Powwow by Brenda J. Child is about an Obijwe girl named Windy Girl, who is attending a powwow with Uncle and Itchy Boy.  She listens to Uncle’s stories, watches the dancing, and admires the outfits, and soon she falls asleep under the stars and dreams of all that she has seen. Author Brenda Child and illustrator Jonathan Thunder are both members of the Red Lake Obijwe tribe, making this an #OwnVoices picture book about Obijwe culture.  It is highly recommended by the founder of American Indians in Children’s Literature, Debbie Reese.  (Recommended for ages 4+)

In the Footsteps of Crazy Horse by Joseph M. Marshall III is a chapter book about a boy named Jimmy McClean, who is half Lakota.  Through his grandfather, Nyles High Eagle, Jimmy begins to learn more about his Lakota heritage, including the famous Lakota warrior Crazy Horse.  Author Joseph M. Marshall III is a member of the Sicangu Lakota tribe, and the illustrator, Jim Yellowhawk, is a member of the Cheyenne River Sioux.  This book also comes highly recommend by the AICL founder, Debbie Reese.  (Recommended for ages 9+)

Giving Thanks: A Native American Good Morning Message by Jake Swamp is a children’s version of Iroquois Thanksgiving Address.  It’s a beautiful, simple picture book about giving thanks to the earth around us, and should be a part of any Thanksgiving story time.  The late author Jake Swamp was a member of the Mohawk tribe. This book is available through the library’s BookFlix database. (Recommended for ages 3+)

Spooky Halloween Reads

Are you or your child in the mood for a spooky story?  The Cape May County Library has three new scary chapter books that are sure to deliver the spine tingles.

Small Spaces by Katherine Arden is about a girl named Ollie, who one day saves a book from being thrown in a river, and begins to read about mysterious disappearances, bargains with an entity known as the Smiling Man, and a warning to keep to the small spaces after dark.  On a school field trip to a local farm that is said to be haunted, Ollie discovers that the farm is the same one from the book she grabbed at the river.  Her surprise turns to horror as the school bus breaks down on the way back to the school, and her digital wristwatch flashes one word:  RUN!  Small Spaces is equal parts ghost story and mystery, and it’s a guarantee that you will never again look at a scarecrow without feeling a bit creeped out. (Recommended for ages 10+)

City of Ghosts by Victoria Schwab is about a girl named Cassidy who is able to see and communicate with ghosts.  When her parents are invited to film a paranormal television show in Edinburgh, Scotland, she’s hauled overseas to one of the most haunted places on the planet.  Her ability attracts the unwanted attention of a particular nasty character.  City of Ghosts is a fun, spooky story, and you’ll want to have an Edinburgh guidebook beside you to help visualize the twisty streets and the gloom of the Greyfriar Kirk.  (Recommended for ages 10+)

Ghoulia by Barbara Cantini is about a young zombie who wants to make new friends.  However, she’s very obviously undead, which scares everyone she meets.  It seems hopeless, until Halloween rolls around, and she fits right in!  This book has a great bit of dark humor that’s perfect for fans of Nightmare Before Christmas! (Recommended for ages 8+)

mainlogo

Teen Logo Color

TLC

Search this Site

Follow Us

FB flickr
TWITTER YT

Clubs ReadWatchListeneresources blog

tumbleABC01littlepimSesame Streetdisney gamesBookflixlogo